Australia is a combination of states and territories, which are divided between the mainland and several islands. Island territories are known as external territories. There are 6 states, 3 territories and 7 external territories.

The mainland of Australia includes:

*New South Wales
*Northern Territory (territory)
*South Australia
*Tasmania (island)
*Western Australia

External territories include:

*Ashmore and Cartier Islands
*Australia Antarctic Territory
*Australian Capital Territory
*Christmas Island
*Cocos (Keeling)
*Coral Sea Islands
*Heard Island and McDonald Islands
*Jervis Bay Territory
*Norfolk Island

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *